Matthews Library Monthly Book Club

 

Book Club in scrabble letters with a stack of booksThe club meets upstairs in the library at 5:30 p.m. on the fourth Tuesday of the month to discuss the month’s literary selection. Members take turns leading each month’s discussion. We hope you’ll take the time to participate in this vibrant club!

Most titles are available in county either on shelf here at the library or upon request from another library in Lebanon County. Inquire at the circulation desk for availability. Titles for upcoming months are ordered in advance of the meeting for members to take home at the end of each month’s discussion. If you wish to read ahead, it is your responsibility to request titles online or through the staff at the circulation desk.

2017 Reading List & Schedule

 January 24 Ordinary Resurrections: Children in the Years of Hope by Jonathan Kozol Ordinary Resurrections by Jonathan Kozol

 

 February 28  Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth Wein is this year’s One Book One Community selection! Rose Under Fire book cover
 March 281  French Lessons: A Memoir by Alice Kaplan french-lessons
 April 25*  A Man Called Ove by Frederik Backman a-man-called-ove
 May 232  Laughing Boy: A Navajo Love Story by Oliver La Farge laughing-boy
 June 27  And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie and-then-there-were-none
 July 251  The Lady and The Unicorn by Tracy Chevalier the-lady-and-the-unicorn
 August 22  The Bookshop by Penelope Fitzgerald the-book-shop
 September 262  Mrs. Lincoln’s Dressmaker by Jennifer Chiaverini mrs-lincoln-dressmaker
 October 24  Cloud Chamber by Michael Dorris cloud-chamber
 November 28  The Maytrees by Annie Dillard maytrees
   No December meeting; happy holidays to all!  
 January 23, 2018  A Tale for the Time Being by Ruth Ozecki tale-for-the-time-being

*Members have agreed to purchase and share copies of this title; a book club member will place the order; a limited number of copies of this title are available to borrow from the library as well as an eBook copy available to borrow from OverDrive.

  1. On March 28 & July 25, the book club will meet at Tony’s on Market Street, 333 W. Market Street, Jonestown, PA 17038.
  2. On May 23 & September 26, the book club will meet in the banquet room at Esther’s Restaurant, 2957 State Route 22, Fredericksburg, PA 17026.